Writer’s Lament

I’m back from taking a break to work on some poetry at my other blog, A Full Cup of Tea, and am now ready t to get back to working on some short stories and flash fiction with the FRIDAY FICTIONEERS. Every Friday authors from around the world gather to share their 100 word stories based on the photo prompt hosted by Rochelle Wisoff. We offer support, constructive criticism, and encouragement to each other . Readers are encouraged to comment. My contribution for the week follows the photo prompt below…

FF_santoshwriter (1)

PHOTO PROMPT – © Santoshwriter

Another grey, rainy day greeted me with a sad smile. Even the dog lethargically stretched with a wide yawn as my coffee dripped unenthusiastically into my mug. This was my third cup, but no amount of caffeine could shake the cold, grey shadows that had crept into my bones. I needed a vacation– desperately– from the rain, from my writing, from this miserable little cabin. I needed some sun, some warmth, and needed it now! Before I lost it, and became one of those writers that you read about in the papers…

Found wandering naked in the woods, mumbling about fictional characters.

—Writer’s Lament: 102 words—

9 thoughts on “Writer’s Lament

  1. Do discouraged writers end up like that? I better get a new hobby. That is not how I want my 15 minutes of fame to play out! Great story, by the way. You scared me straight! 😉

    • zennjennc says:

      I don’t know if if they end up like that or not…I really hope not 🙂

      • There would be a lot of us wandering around in rather vulnerable states and surely the news would be rife with stories about us. I think we probably just wander around like that in our heads. 😉

  2. Amy Reese says:

    I need a vacation, too. Sometimes getting outside is just what I need to stimulate some fresh writing. Great, believable story.

  3. Ula says:

    Oh gosh, I could imagine myself walking around naked in the woods talking to people I imagined. Scary! Lovely flash. I’d like to say that maybe going for run might help (your character) as I’ve heard it does, but I don’t know. My personal experience is that running is excruciating.

  4. Margaret says:

    Everything will be better once the sun comes out again. Nicely told.

  5. Dear Jenn,

    Welcome back.

    Some of my characters are more real to me than actual people. As a matter of fact I think they speak to me more. 😉 good one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. mjlstories says:

    We’ve all been here I think! Nice one.
    I love the idea of a novel that starts with a mumbling naked person found in the woods and they try to trace the people he/she is talking about only to discover…
    Just hope it doesn’t turn out to be me doing the naked rambling!

  7. ansumani says:

    LOL. Funny and scary (don’t want to end up like your author here 🙂 )
    Nicely done.

Comments are closed.