Magic Lost

garden maze

PHOTO PROMPT – Copyright – Melanie Greenwood

FRIDAY FICTIONEERS: EVERY FRIDAY AUTHORS FROM AROUND THE WORLD GATHER TO SHARE THEIR 100-WORDS BASED ON THE PHOTO PROMPT HOSTED BY ROCHELLE WISOFF, OFFERING CONSTRUCTIVE CRITICISM AND ENCOURAGEMENT TO EACH OTHER. READERS ARE ENCOURAGED TO COMMENT AS WELL. HERE’S MY SHORT CONTRIBUTION…

“The garden will heal you, Colleen,” I told my sister as I pushed her wheelchair into the maze of greenery, “gardens are magic.” She looked at me coldly as I sat down next to her beneath the pecan tree.
“I read it in book. Books are also magic.” I tried to explain to her.
“Hmm…there’s no such thing as magic, Maryanne” she sighed in frustration.
I took her to the garden everyday but she never did believe. As I ran through the garden, thorns grabbing at my black dress, I did not know whether I believed in magic anymore.

–Friday Fictioneers:100 words–

8 thoughts on “Magic Lost

  1. Seems her sister discouraged her from believing in the magic of the garden. Negativitiy is the thief of joy. I enjoyed reading your story.

  2. Taygibay says:

    My black dress, I think you meant … 😉
    Feel free to erase this after use
    and have a great day, Tay.

  3. Margaret says:

    You have to believe, but you have to be wise too. Nice story, dramatic ending.

  4. That’s a scary garden but let’s hope it helps your sister. Great atmosphere.

  5. sad when you lose that belief in magic. Thanks so much for you visit. Hope you are doing well. I noticed you aren’t doing A to Z 😦

Comments are closed.