FRIDAY FICTIONEERS: Reply All

FRIDAY FICTIONEERS: EVERY FRIDAY AUTHORS FROM AROUND THE WORLD GATHER TO SHARE THEIR 100-WORDS BASED ON THE PHOTO PROMPT HOSTED BY ROCHELLE WISOFF, OFFERING CONSTRUCTIVE CRIT AND ENCOURAGEMENT TO EACH OTHER. READERS ARE ENCOURAGED TO COMMENT AS WELL. HERE’S MY (SHORT) CONTRIBUTION…

Copyright-Al Forbes

Copyright-Al Forbes

“You know you sent that email– reply all,” Raquel whispered to me at the coffee machine.

“What?! No…” I stammered, scrambling for my phone to double-check my email,”Oh no!”

“It’s happening to everyone, Mercury’s retrograde,” she informed me as she smugly sipped her coffee.

“What’s that mean?” I regrettably asked, envisioning whirling planets and Super Novas.

Raquel sighed, as if i should already know, “It’s when Mercury appears to move backwards and all communication goes haywire. What sign are you anyway?”

I skeptically raised an eyebrow but answered, “I’m a …”

Until the boss stormed in, “Mickey, my office–now!”

—98 words—

 

10 thoughts on “FRIDAY FICTIONEERS: Reply All

  1. atrm61 says:

    Poor Mickey!Wonder how Raquel knew and why is she so smug though?;-)Great take:-)

  2. Ah yes, the problem with emails…and the problem with the messenger, who is about to get the punishment.

  3. mike olley says:

    Oh, the embarrassment. The only thing to do is reply all again and admit guilt, unless the email was fiendishly nasty… then leave town.

  4. kz says:

    uh-oh..wonder what that message said..whatever it was,sounds like trouble 🙂

  5. Jan Brown says:

    Damn, I hate when that happens 😉

    Great story!

  6. Dear Jenn,

    Hey Mickey! What did you write in that email??? Inquiring minds like mine want to know. Spot on dialogue. Good job.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  7. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Zenjenn,

    I don’t wonder what the message said. Your story was so good that it eclipses any need to know. We’ve all written e-mails that if sent to ‘all’ would cause us great distress. What I want to know is…can you guess? What sign is she? Great job. Thank you for putting your imagination in high gear for us.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  8. elmowrites says:

    Like your character, I don’t go in for all this Mercury in retrograde stuff – doesn’t save me from my mistakes though. Who doesn’t fear the “reply all” button?

  9. hahahhahahaaa! That was funny!

  10. AnElephant doesn’t understand about the star sign.
    But did enjoy the story.

Comments are closed.