Goodbye

Copyright -Renee Heath

Copyright -Renee Heath

I just had to get out of this god-forsaken, goodbye town before I turned into a permanent fixture like the Bidwell Exchange purveyor of overpriced tickets to a better life.  I was just a little short on cash for the train ticket to Chicago. Outside the Exchange, I did whatever I could for the last $100 dollars I needed to purchase my ticket to fame and fortune in America’s Second City. I sang. I danced. I juggled. I even told jokes. The problem with a goodbye town though…there is no one around to toss you one lousy dollar for your trouble.

—100 words—

Had Lady A’s ‘Goodbye Town’ stuck in my head when I saw the prompt for this week 🙂

FRIDAY FICTIONEERS: EVERY FRIDAY (OR CLOSE ENOUGH)  AUTHORS FROM AROUND THE WORLD GATHER HERE TO SHARE THEIR 100-WORDS BASED ON THE PHOTO PROMPT HOSTED BY ROCHELLE WISOFF, OFFERING CONSTRUCTIVE CRIT AND ENCOURAGEMENT TO EACH OTHER. READERS ARE ENCOURAGED TO COMMENT AS WELL. FOR MORE FRIDAY FICTIONEERS’ STORIES…

 

13 thoughts on “Goodbye

  1. Good luck to her! I’ll toss her a dollar, but only that. Creates the mood, for sure.

  2. Joe Owens says:

    When everyone wants to leave they will grip their dollars tight.

  3. Ye Pirate says:

    A very nice account. Your last line was powerful, ringing true with the fragility of luck.

  4. pattisj says:

    Don’t you love when inspiration gels like that? Great story.

  5. kz says:

    you made me feel for the character.. i wish her luck 🙂

  6. Lot of wisdom in this story. Ther is something almost proverbial in your story

  7. Ah. Hope someone comes up with a few bucks. She will get out.

  8. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Zen Genie,

    A lovely story that made me smile and drop a fiver in her hat there on the sidewalk. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  9. Dear Jenn,

    Your well-written, concise and hard-hitting story made me smile. I love “godforsaken goodbye town.” Bravo!

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  10. Somebody needs to send her out of town – maybe on a rail, Randy

  11. Thanks for turning me onto this song.

  12. rheath40 says:

    Darling if you only knew how close you are to the way I felt when I snapped that picture. I’d give that dance all of that 100.00 she needs to get out of that god-forsaken goodbye town. You made me cry….

  13. neenslewy says:

    You paint a good picture. Vivid. Especially the ending – I like the idea of a goodbye town.

Comments are closed.