Mermaid Breakup

 

“I’m sorry. I wasn’t thinking,”  Merrick apologized, pausing for Marin to say something. She  folded her arms in response to his pathetic excuses. Merrick continued, looking at the sea floor,  “It won’t happen again; I promise.” Marin seethed in silence, unsatisfied with Merrick’s weak promises.

Merrick peeked up through long lashes to see Mairin’s rage reaching the boiling point. Throwing her arms up in disgust, Mairin screamed, “I don’t want to hear it! There’s no excuse! You lying, no good… I hope you…. and… your… mistress get attacked by pirates! We are done–for good!! We are never getting back together!!!”

 

 

 

 

 

—100 words—

Trifecta: Week Eighty-Nine

The weekly prompt.

WEAK (adjective)

1: lacking strength: as
: deficient in physical vigor : feeble, debilitated
: not able to sustain or exert much weight, pressure, or strain
: not able to resist external force or withstand attack

: easily upset or nauseated <a weak stomach>
2a : mentally or intellectually deficient
: not firmly decided : vacillating
: resulting from or indicating lack of judgment or discernment
: not able to withstand temptation or persuasion <the spirit is willing but the flesh is weak>
3: not factually grounded or logically presented <a weak argument>

Remember:
  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
  • Only one entry per writer.
  • If your post doesn’t meet our requirements, please leave your link in the comments section, not in the linkz.
  • Trifecta is open to everyone. Please join us.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Mermaid Breakup

  1. Draug419 says:

    I bet it was the redheaded king’s daughter, huh?

  2. I never thought of mermaids breaking up… but why wouldn’t they?!

  3. Gabriella says:

    Very imaginative! I admire people who can write about other creatures and wish I could.

  4. jannatwrites says:

    Yeah, he messed up!

  5. I love this fantasy world you’ve shared with us. Thanks for linking up.

  6. Good for her! There are other fish in the sea. (Sorry–couldn’t resist.)

    What a unique take on the prompt. I think you could develop this into a longer story. I would like to see where it goes from here.

  7. Well! That’s the end of that, isn’t it?
    I’m guessing you did it because, well, MERmaids, but I find it confusing when characters are named too closely. I’d say be careful with that.
    -Alicia Audrey

Comments are closed.