FRIDAY FICTIONEERS: Why is my prom dress hanging off the balcony?

A continuation of last week‘s tale…
Copyright - Janet Webb

Copyright – Janet Webb

Bizma’s class trip the museum had left her with many uneasy questions about the war, the demise of monetary systems, the lack of adult humans, the bots that watched over them, and what would happen to her and her classmates as they graduated and went to prom.

“Why is my prom dress hanging off the balcony?” she asked parent-bot agitatedly.

“Wevk spilt water on it; I’m letting it air dry.”

“Where will Bizma go after prom?” little, teary-eyed Wevk asked.

Parent-bot didn’t answer; did not give any indication of the impending doom that awaited the girl bot raised from infancy.

—–Dystopia: 100 words—-

FRIDAY FICTIONEERS: EVERY FRIDAY AUTHORS FROM AROUND THE WORLD GATHER HERE TO SHARE THEIR 100-WORDS BASED ON THE PHOTO PROMPT HOSTED BY ROCHELLE WISOFF, OFFERING CONSTRUCTIVE CRIT AND ENCOURAGEMENT TO EACH OTHER. READERS ARE ENCOURAGED TO COMMENT AS WELL. FOR MORE FRIDAY FICTIONEERS’ STORIES…



11 thoughts on “FRIDAY FICTIONEERS: Why is my prom dress hanging off the balcony?

  1. I hope the impending doom is nothing more than the dress having a white spot!

  2. Jan Brown says:

    Reminiscent of “Logan’s Run,” but with life ending at an even younger age. At least they celebrate with one last dance.

  3. I do so hate impending doom!!

    janet

  4. Sandra says:

    So reminded me of Logan’s Run. Sanctuary… new word for it. Well done.

  5. betarules says:

    Very original take. (RogRites)

  6. yik… dystopia can be so enerving… I’m not sure I want to see what the impeding doom is (extracting of brains I guess)

  7. neenslewy says:

    A different take, a great read.

  8. Dear Jenn,

    A unique take on the prompt. I see I’m not the only one who thought of Logan’s Run.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  9. 40again says:

    Very disturbing take on the prompt. Now waiting for something awful to happen…
    Dee

  10. Joe Owens says:

    I know many proms end in doom, but usually the doom is some overdramatic teen-aged exercise.

  11. This is why i come here.. Thanks 🙂

Comments are closed.