FRIDAY FICTIONEERS: Un Lirio Para Tu

“Un lirio para tu.”

“Muchas gracias SeñorRoberto.”

“Conocí a tu padre.”

“Sí Señor,” the sobbing young woman dressed in black on the TV screen asked the well dressed, greying gentleman, who handed her the lily, as she sat the flower on the window ledge overlooking the metropolis of Mexico City.

“Sí,” he answered, embracing the grief-stricken daughter of Señor Carlos Hernandez, a wealthy business owner.

Copyright – Lora Mitchell

Copyright – Lora Mitchell

 

“What are you watching?”

Amor a la Muerte, a telenovela.”

“Do I want to ask?”

“I have a Spanish exam next week.  I need to practice.”

“Maybe you should have done the homework.”

___________________________________________

FRIDAY FICTIONEERS: EVERY FRIDAY AUTHORS FROM AROUND THE WORLD GATHER HERE TO SHARE THEIR 100-WORDS BASED ON THE PHOTO PROMPT HOSTED BY ROCHELLE WISOFF, OFFERING CONSTRUCTIVE CRIT AND ENCOURAGEMENT TO EACH OTHER. READERS ARE ENCOURAGED TO COMMENT AS WELL. FOR MORE FRIDAY FICTIONEERS’ STORIES…



15 thoughts on “FRIDAY FICTIONEERS: Un Lirio Para Tu

  1. Sunshine says:

    gracias. 🙂 my knowledge of the Spanish language.

  2. Nice spin on the prompt.

  3. R. E. Hunter says:

    If only we could study by watching TV 8^). Nice one.

  4. I’m a bit slow this morning so it took me a couple readings to appreciate how you did the story. It reminds me of when I visit my parents in Arizona and see Mexican television. The Spanish flies fast and thick and then suddenly, something like “Coca Cola” comes popping out. 🙂 It also reminds me of a hilarious episode of “Psych.”

    janet

  5. Joe Owens says:

    Shortcuts will get you nowhere. I am worried he will get nothing out of this endeavor except a failing grade.

  6. Sarah Ann says:

    Great take on the prompt. Really enjoyed it.

  7. kdillmanjones says:

    This story is great on so many levels… and I particularly love that it critiques language teaching as we typically conceive of it. Your character is learning so much more from the telenovela than the classroom. Great story!

  8. elmowrites says:

    Kudos for writing a bilingual story this week!

  9. Películas son mas divertidos que estiando ¿no?
    Dear Jen,
    Feel free to correct my stale Spanish if I didn’t say it right. I enjoyed the bilingual take and the fact that I understood it. 😉 good job.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

  10. Awww dad, it’s like cliff notes on the tube.

  11. Wonderful… I had to read it a few times. But it’s really great.

  12. jwdwrites says:

    One of the great things about FF is you can read a story, read the comments and then read again to gain a more informed appreciation of a story. Muy bien!

  13. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Jen,

    This story was great, especially the conclusion. Very well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

Comments are closed.