Oh Fortune!

Oh Fortune send me some good luck
With Cupid’s arrow I’ve been struck
The devilish gods have run amuck
An unwilling bride I’ve been stuck

A runaway bride I’m after
No help from stern looking pastor
Or wedding guests’ haunting laughter
Love is a complete disaster

Fortune,  favor my brave standing
Throughout love’s misunderstanding
Bring me peace and understanding
No more of my heart’s demanding


Fortune send me luck
Deny my heart’s desires
Love flows by, one way

___________________

Līgo Haībun Challenge ~ Prompt: Fortune Favours The Brave

ligo-challenge2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The haībun format here for the Līgo Haībun Challenge is as follows ~

paragraph (more than one paragraph is fine, or just a few sentences) in prose form of either

  • a descriptive passage , or excerpt from a story/or previously published post
  • an explanation 
  • a tale
  • a travelogue
  • a news item
  • a recipe

and

  • the haiku/collection of haiku related to the text  to close. The haiku should be as authentic as possible, with therefore no syllable count, no capitals or full stop.

THE LIGO HAIBUN NORMALLY SHOULD BE A TOTAL 220 WORDS **OR LESS** READ ABOUT HAIBUN HERE

__________________

Photo:  Public Domain Anonymous Artist from Holland

Allegory of Fortune.
Date: circa 1520-1530
7 thoughts on “Oh Fortune!

  1. Love the format 🙂 brave indeed

  2. Brilliant format, your rhyme scheme is well done, and I managed a grin even with the tragedy…

  3. kz says:

    i had such fun reading this 🙂 yes, great format and wonderful rhyme

  4. yepiratehere says:

    Yes, a tragic grin! Clever use of words!

  5. Peripatetic Eric says:

    A well told tale. It flows really well.

  6. Sunshine says:

    oh, Fortune indeed. i love the simplicity of your tale and the image is perfect. ♥

Comments are closed.