The Cave

The cave echoed with magic as Marie used everything she had to wrestle loose from the vines. She cheated to the right, towards the lip of near the back of the cave where the vines had trouble reaching. Marie shot another fiery blast at the snake-like vines slithering at her feet. The blast knocked her towards the edge of the cavern ledge off-balance; she listed to one side and fell over the edge into the underground river.

Mare floated along looking up at the view of glistening stalactites. “I should just let this current’s flow take me to meet fate’s end. I’ve got nothing to lose. That witch’s tricks have left me alone with no one to share my life with. It’s not worth living,” she wept.

“Have faith my child, you will reunite with you love, though the path will not be easy,” a whispered voice whooshed through the cave.

“What? Who said that?!”

“Have faith my child, you will reunite with you love,” the voice whooshed again pushing Marie out of the cave, tumbling down a waterfall into a serene pool.

Marie swam to the edge; dusted herself off and made plans for her next time jump. No time to wallow in self-pity anymore.

__________________________________

Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #309

#25 – 2/19/13 – CHEAT

Josie Two Shoes

3 thoughts on “The Cave

  1. I’m delighted to have you join us at Two Shoes Tuesday! This was a wonderful, magical tale, and I loved the way it turned out! You managed to weave in all those words very well!

  2. oldegg says:

    I loved picturing this in my mind and want it to continue, let’s hope future prompts will encourage you to develop the story.

Comments are closed.