Friday Fictioneers: Security Check

copyright-Rich Voza

copyright-Rich Voza

“Hey, I’m at my gate, finally. Flight’s delayed one hour due to fog.”

“Something wrong?”

“Just took forever getting through security.  It’s like these people have never flown before  They tell you what to do over the PA and there are signs everywhere. You don’t see everyone in front of you having to take off your shoes, coat, and belt?! Really!!! And of course I get stuck in the line with some guy who doesn’t want to go through the x-ray machine and causes a big fuss.”

“It’s like that every time when I fly too.”

“Really tests my patience.”

__________________________________

FRIDAY FICTIONEERS: EVERY FRIDAY AUTHORS FROM AROUND THE WORLD GATHER HERE TO SHARE THEIR 100-WORDS BASED ON THE PHOTO PROMPT HOSTED BY ROCHELLE WISOFF, OFFERING CONSTRUCTIVE CRIT AND ENCOURAGEMENT TO EACH OTHER. READERS ARE ENCOURAGED TO COMMENT AS WELL. FOR MORE FRIDAY FICTIONEERS’ STORIES…



16 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Security Check

  1. Joe Owens says:

    Maybe the guy is just like that about everything. I recently flew Internationally and spent a lot ore time in securty in the USA than elsewhere.

  2. JackieP says:

    ah yes, the fun of the security check.

  3. muZer says:

    Security check can be a tad frustrating. Great take on the prompt.

  4. Ahhh, the fun of flying these days! If I thought it was really keeping me safe, I’d feel better. But when knives and things still get on board, why are they bothering?

    janet

  5. kz says:

    haha ah well… such is life ^^

  6. billgncs says:

    wild horses wouldn’t get me in those x-ray shooters. Luckily I have some metal in me so I get to get patted down every time.

  7. Sounds like someone is upset with the security system for flying.

  8. tedstrutz says:

    That pretty much sums it up! Patience is a virtue… and late planes help too.

  9. This is an Official Notice from The Shoe Authority: While we applaud your fiction, we don’t like you casting aspersions on the neccessity of doing what we tell you to. Please be ready for the third degree when next you fly, and remember, it is for your safety.

    aloha,

    Doug

  10. Sandra says:

    You’ve captured the nightmare that is flying these days – I know of no more frustrating experience these days. Well done.

  11. I can’t imagine having to fly on a regular basis I think it probably would be fairly aggravating.

  12. t says:

    Lately, I find myself longing for the days when delays were as short as one hour =]

  13. Wait! This is Friday FICTIONeers. What part of Fiction don’t you get? This well written piece was too true!!! Really loved this. Been there done that. Anyone who’s traveled by air can relate.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

  14. The line in security when all you can do is observing the fools in front of you. And then when it’s your turn you forget that little coin, and you can hear a sigh from the line. Yes this is real 🙂

  15. rich says:

    makes me think the guy refusing the x-ray is up to no good. in which case, good thing for the delay – provided that guy isn’t on the plane when it takes off.

Comments are closed.