Tire Pressure

“Where were you? What took so long?”

“The sudden cold, rainstorm caused the tire pressure light to come on. I was afraid I would blow out a tire if I kept going, so I stopped at a gas station to check the tire pressure. There wasn’t one right off the highway, so I got a little lost. I found an old, covered Phillips station about 15 miles down a country road.”

Perfect.”

“It was, because my tires were actually a little low, so I filled them up.”

“Do I really look that dumb!? You’re grounded, no car for a month!”

___________________________________________________

Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #305

Two Shoes Tuesday #23 – “old”

Josie Two Shoes

11 thoughts on “Tire Pressure

  1. rlmorgan51 says:

    Sounds like this must have been a conversation between a daughter and her mother. The daughter apparently had everything going for her to cover up a side trip to engage with what had been called in the days of my youth as necking. That is until she spoke about a possible blowout with low pressure has being the reason for her concern and her delay in coming home. 😦
    Next time she should have her boyfriend use his car [that’s provided he hasn’t had his driving privileges taken away again.] 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. 4joy says:

    amusing story .. haven’t seen one of those gas stations in ages…..

  3. Totally loved it! Young people are so good at telling tales, forgetting that their parents were once young too, and know all the angles! You wove these words all together well! Thanks for joining in at Two Shoes Tuesday this week, glad to have you aboard! (I remember when gas stations really did look like that… see, old! 🙂

  4. Old Egg says:

    The story was so good I would have let them get away with it (unless the tank was empty!)

  5. guayja1 says:

    Two writing challenges for one, not bad 🙂

  6. Jim says:

    I liked your story, Jenn (??). Another story is that thed bumper and fender dent came because it was either take the curb or hit the dog in the street.

    When I told that to my students (college) many of them told me that they had used that story too and that it generally had worked.
    ..
    http://jimmiehov.blogspot.com/2013/02/free-tv-license-for-old-or-blind-two.html

  7. Wayne says:

    Yep, been there, done that.

  8. brenda says:

    what a great story….. do they even still have Phillips stations anymore?

Comments are closed.