Friday Fictioneers: Samantha’s Gift

Friday Fictioneers: Every Friday authors from around the world gather here to share their 100-words based on the photo prompt and offer constructive crit and encouragement to each other. This creates a wonderful opportunity for free reading of very fresh fiction! Readers are encouraged to comment as well. Read my Entry Below:

Copyright-Scott L. Vannatter

Copyright-Scott L. Vannatter

 

Samantha had her craft supplies spread out all over the kitchen table.

“What are you doing?” her mother asked the seven year-old.

“Making Christmas presents for you and daddy.”

“But not for Paul, remember he’s being punished.”

“Yes, mommy,” Samantha answered obediently, but turned to the cat and whispered, “But I’ll need you to help me hide the present I’m making Paul, Smokey. I don’t care if he did burn my toys, he’s my big brother and I love him. He should have at least one present for Christmas.”

Smokey purred an approving response before he jumped from the table.

7 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Samantha’s Gift

  1. dmmacilroy says:

    Smokey sounds like he’ll keep Samantha’s secret. A great little Christmas tale. Hope your Holidays are nice for you.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  2. Hi Jenn,
    Love the alliance between the girl and the cat. And the girl seems to be wise beyond her years, with the true holiday spirit. Ron

  3. rich says:

    no wonder kids always want pets. they get things done. well done.

  4. billgncs says:

    interesting with an eerie undertone

  5. Dear Jenn,
    Samantha’s a generous little sister but I think Paul needs serious help, not just punishment. I see many layers to this story in few words. Good job!
    shalom,
    Rochelle

  6. mari wells says:

    That’s nice of Samantha to forgive Paul.

  7. wmqcolby says:

    A slice of life well-sliced, too. That’s good stuff here, Jenn. All congratulations.

Comments are closed.